Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Are you a BBQ snob?

hondabbq
hondabbq Posts: 1,980
A friend said I was turning into a BBQ snob. Now that I have been egging for about 2 years now I correct people who use a gasser that they are not BBQing, they are grilling. None of my friends or anyone else I know ( minus social media relationships) own an egg. I continually extoll the virtues of the egg to anyone who will listen or asks. If they do think I am a snob they sure look the other way when they know I've got the egg sparked up and hint or invite themselves over. # confused

Comments

• markem
    markem Posts: 54
    No particular reason to be a snob.  They like what they are doing and call it BBQ and no reason why you should correct them.  Mind you, when you are pulling something off the egg, saying, "now this is BBQ!" is certainly warranted.  Let them have their illusions and let you have the killer BBQ.

• hondabbq
    I don't do it spitefully mostly in good humor. I would never do that to someone I don't know.
  • SoCalTim
    SoCalTim Posts: 2,158
    edited May 2014
    Go with me on this ...

I don't like when people try to push their 'religion' on me. Yours happens to be the BGE lifestyle. heed your friends comment. it wasn't a compliment.

Time to re-think his what he said to you. Good friends are hard to come by.

Best ~ Tim
    I've slow smoked and eaten so much pork, I'm legally recognized as being part swine - Chatsworth Ca.
  • henapple
    henapple Posts: 16,025
    If was cooked on a grid over a truck stop toilet and tasted good..I dont care.