Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Help... How not to dry out Chicken.

Options
ChaseD
ChaseD Posts: 7
I'm still new to the Egg World. I have cook chicken tenderloin strips twice now, they have good flavor thanks to Dizzy Pig, but I feel like their dried out. I cook them indirect with the plate setters legs up, at 375-400 for about 45 mins flipping them halfway through the cook. Is it because I used the tenderloin strips, to hot of a temp, or cook time too long, would I be better off cooking the whole breast? Like I said I'm still a newbie, and would appreciate any help!

Comments

• SkinnyV
    SkinnyV Posts: 3,404
    edited May 2014
    Options
    Thermapen is a game changer on breasts. 165 and done, made a few yesterday very moist. Cook time is key IMO, strips can come out just as juicy but you need to pull em at the right time.

Edited out the 160.. Net says 165.
    Seattle, WA
  • ChaseD
    Options
    Thanks SkinnyV!
  • SkinnyV
    SkinnyV Posts: 3,404
    Options
    Its tricky we all fear that undercooked chicken, I've even noticed it can hit done temps and sometimes have a little pink to it, cooked pink not raw. I trust my pen, some people though will want it cooked more its all preference really find the sweet spot for your household.
    Seattle, WA
  • xiphoid007
    xiphoid007 Posts: 536
    Options
    +1 on the thermapen. You need to cook to temp and you will never dry out your chicken again.

If you're coming just tenderloins, they will be done much quicker. I cook full bone in breasts that long.
    Pittsburgh, PA - 1 LBGE
  • SenecaTheYounger