Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Fire Bricks necessary?

I see many of you mention using fire bricks to raise pizza stones etc. I have never used fire bricks and have always just used regular bricks wrapped in heavy duty aluminum foil. I will admit I am new to the BGE and have never cooked at high temperatures like you recommend for pizzas. Are regular old bricks only good up to a certain temperature?  Doing my first attempt at pizzas on the BGE tonight and am curious. Ken 
Dearborn MI

Comments

• TexanOfTheNorth
    TexanOfTheNorth Posts: 3,951
    edited May 2014
    I use leftover paver stones that I had (no foil) and do not have any problem with high temps.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Well, "spa-Peggy" is kind of like spaghetti. I'm not sure what Peggy does different, if anything. But it's the one dish she's kind of made her own.
  • These are the bricks I use. They aren't fire bricks. Around a buck a piece at ACE. I've never wrapped them in foil, though, I would if I were going to put them directly on the food of course. They've been used from low and slows to clean burns without any issue. 

Madison, CT
    LBGE June 2013. 

• KenfromMI
    KenfromMI Posts: 742
    Thinking about it I just used the foil because I would use them to do chicken under bricks and use them like a press for panini style sandwiches etc. Guess no need to wrap them if just used for spacers.

Dearborn MI
  • Durangler
    Durangler Posts: 1,122