Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First time doing steaks on the egg

Options
So I did my first steak tonight and it was good. It was about an 1.5" ribeye. I cooked it at 650 degrees 2min a side, flip, 2min and one more flip for 2min with the egg shut down. The pics don't look near as good as what most of y'all post but hey it was my first time and I'm still learning! Any tips, thoughts or advice would be nice!
Durham, NC

Comments

• Foghorn
    Foghorn Posts: 9,834
    Options
    I advise you to invite me over the next time you cook that.

XXL BGE, Karebecue, Klose BYC, Chargiller Akorn Kamado, Weber Smokey Mountain, Grand Turbo gasser, Weber Smoky Joe, and the wheelbarrow that my grandfather used to cook steaks from his cattle

San Antonio, TX

• onedbguru
    onedbguru Posts: 1,647
    Options
    HERE!! HERE!!!  I second that!!
  • Skiddymarker
    Skiddymarker Posts: 8,522
    Options
    Looks pretty good, better than the nachos I had for dinner! 

Nicely done. 
    Delta B.C. - Whiskey and steak, because no good story ever started with someone having a salad!
  • Chris_Wang
    Chris_Wang Posts: 1,254
    Options
    Pics look good to me! Great job.

Ball Ground, GA

ATL Sports Homer

• boostfed
    boostfed Posts: 63
    Options
    very nice! love the beer coozie too!
  • SGH
    SGH Posts: 28,791
    Options
    jmarbs21 said: The pics don't look near as good as what most of y'all post
    They look mighty fine to me brother.

Location- Just "this side" of Biloxi, Ms.

Status- Standing by.