Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Is This Brisket Worth Cooking?

I have never tried to cook a brisket before, but I keep seeing all of these posts and wonderful looking pics of brisket so I want to give it a try. 

I just went to my local grocery store and all I can get is a flat. I don't know if it is quality enough to even give it a try. 

I am hoping some of your more experienced guys will be able to offer some advice. I can drive an hour one way and get higher quality, but this is IT here in my little town! 

Louisville, GA - 2 Large BGE's

Comments

• WeberWho
    WeberWho Posts: 11,008
    edited May 2014
    I'm far from knowing what I'm doing with a brisket but that seems really small. I'm thinking it will dry out quick and best used in chili, stews, ground down and mixed into burgers, etc

Save the money and pick up a Sams/Costco membership if you have one near you. You can pick up a packer around that price range. That grocery store is dreaming for $10 lb.
    "The pig is an amazing animal. You feed a pig an apple and it makes bacon. Let's see Michael Phelps do that" - Jim Gaffigan

Minnesota
  • DMW
    DMW Posts: 13,832
    For that price/pound you could almost be in to a SRF Wagyu whole packer delivered.

And that is pretty much the same price/pound as Creekstone Prime, shipping is included in their price.

If I was going to drop $9.98/lb on a brisket, it would be one of the above. 
    They/Them
    Morgantown, PA