Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

1st turbo brisket advice?

Options
i have seen a good amount of threads on turbo brisket.  i am interested in details from anyone willing to share.  cooking for about 25 tonight.  any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• SGH
    SGH Posts: 28,791
    Options
    I'm not a turbo pro but I will take a shot if no one else replies if you are interested.

Location- Just "this side" of Biloxi, Ms.

Status- Standing by.

The greatest barrier against all wisdom, the stronghold against knowledge itself, is the single thought, in ones mind, that they already have it all figured out. 

• coachbdouble
    Options
    yes please.  fire away!
  • SGH
    SGH Posts: 28,791
    Options
    When I turbo brisket I Iike to cook at 350 degrees. I also like to set them right on the grid for 2-2 1/2 hours. At this point I like to finish them In a pan uncovered. If you injected just sit it right in the pan on its on. If you didn't inject I recommend adding a little beef broth to the pan or your liquid of choice. Don't get carried away with the liquid just add about half a cup. The brisket will soon render plenty of liquid to go along with the broth. I find when I turbo I usually have to take to a higher internal temp than normal to achieve the desired result that I'm looking for. I'm presuming that you already have a rub in mind but if not I will make a recommendation on that as well. I prefer oak wood or a 50-50 mix of oak and pecan for smoke. If I missed any thing just ask and I will offer what I can.

Location- Just "this side" of Biloxi, Ms.