Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Probably a dumb question

Options
martinhd28
martinhd28 Posts: 38
edited April 2014 in EggHead Forum
Hi there - total noob question here.   When lighting, I'm using the starter cubes lit in a couple of places under a pile of lump.  This produces a lot of flame. My question is - do I wait until the flames die down completely (and the coals are just red) before I close the dome?

Hope everyone has some good Easter cooking plans this weekend - I'm trying steaks tonight for the first time. 
Toronto, ON

Comments

• buzd504
    buzd504 Posts: 3,824
    edited April 2014
    Options
    You just need to make sure the coals themselves are lit and the fire isn't coming from the cube that is still burning.

The goal is to heat the inside of the grill enough to start convection, which will make the fire spread.  The better the coals are lit before you close the dome, the quicker this will happen.
    NOLA
  • TexanOfTheNorth
    Options
    Not a dumb question at all. I usually give it 5-10 minutes and then close the dome. If it's a really windy day I will close the dome as soon as I light. I use a couple of pieces of paper towel with a little cooking oil.

Oh, welcome to the lifestyle!
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Well, "spa-Peggy" is kind of like spaghetti. I'm not sure what Peggy does different, if anything. But it's the one dish she's kind of made her own.
    Options