Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Fish for people who do not normally eat fish

13»

Comments

• chashans
    chashans Posts: 418
    We ate at a buffet last Sunday and the fish was excellent to my taste.  It was fried and not "fishy" at all.  I asked the owner what it was and he said pollock. I am no expert so will rely on what he told me.  I may try this on the Egg if the snow ever melts. 
    Pollock comes from very cold salt water (Alaska). It is what imitation crab is made from.
    LARGE, MINI BGE    SAN DIEGO, CA            An alcoholic with a barbecuing problem.

• chashans
    Mackerel and Salmon are both excellent slow smoked and then refrigerated. Then eaten cold as snacks.
    LARGE, MINI BGE    SAN DIEGO, CA            An alcoholic with a barbecuing problem.

• chashans
    You can also eat fish poached and steamed (healthy!).

• fence0407
    fence0407 Posts: 2,236
    Thanks for the heads up @chashans! I might try eating different types of fish and other seafood out at restaurants to find something I like before trying to make it on my own.
    Large - Mini - Blackstone 17", 28", 36"
    Cumming, GA  

• fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,668
    you should also try some haddock en papillote recipes, great light and quick summer meals, lots of variations if you google it so flavors can easily be changed up, lemon and dill, tomatoes and capers, zuchini and shredded carrots etc

and for pickerel, a pickerel is a pickerel, a walleye is a walleye, a pike is a pike. three different fish. know what your catching
    :))
    fukahwee maine