Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Lump education 101 please!

So I have been cooking on my egg now for about 8 months and after ready a few post here over the last week I believe I must be really missing something when it comes to lump. I have been cooking with Cowboy brand and am noticing a trend here that most people don't care for it at all so I was wondering if we could start a discussion about different brands and types of lump so as to educate on why we might want to use different brands and what they are good for. I understand that some are made from different species of wood and have different burn characteristics so maybe we could list them with reasons to use one brand over the other and what for?
Bristow Virginia XL&Mini One of the best feelings in life is watching other people enjoy the food I cooked!

Comments

• Go to the naked whiz website
    My PitMaster IQ120 FREAKIN ROCKS!!!!!!! Current BGE arsenal: XL & MiniMax
  • R2Egg2Q
    R2Egg2Q Posts: 2,136
    ^+1. Pretty much everything you want to know about lump: http://www.nakedwhiz.com/lump.htm
    XL, Large, Small, Mini Eggs, Shirley Fabrication 24x36 Patio, Humphrey's Weekender, Karubecue C-60, MAK 1-Star General, Hasty Bake Gourmet, Santa Maria Grill, Webers: 14" WSM, 22.5" OTG, 22.5" Kettle Premium, WGA Charcoal, Summit S-620 NG

Bay Area, CA
  • boatbum
    boatbum Posts: 1,273
    +1   Nakedwhiz is a valuable website for Egg's.
    Cookin in Texas
  • GeorgeS
    GeorgeS Posts: 955
    edited February 2014
    fairchase said: