Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pork Butt - Drip Pan Question?

Options

Do you guys put a liquid in your drip pan, apple juice, water, etc?  If so, do you think it makes a difference?  I have done it both ways but I feel the bark is not as good due to the constant steam in the meat.  Your thoughts?  This is my first butt on the Egg although I have done many in my side firebox smoker (pre-egg).

I have a 6.5lb butt sitting in the fridge injected with a combo of apple juice, cider vinegar, OJ, Worcheshire, & Rub.  Rubbed down with John Henry Pecan Rub, this is my first time with that but I hear it is great.....Cant wait!! 

XL Egg Owner Since Dec 2013 - Louisiana

Comments

• SWVABeanCounter
    Options
    No liquids are necessary, just make sure you use something to raise the drip pan off the platesetter to prevent the drippings from burning.  I just use tin foil balls.

Damascus, VA.  Friendliest town on the Appalachian Trail.

LBGE Aug 2012, SBGE Feb 2014

• cazzy
    cazzy Posts: 9,136
    Options
    I don't...haven't really found the need to as the egg has enough moisture. Assuming you're cooking and not looking!!
    Just a hack that makes some $hitty BBQ....
  • corey24
    corey24 Posts: 386
    Options
    No liquids are necessary, just make sure you use something to raise the drip pan off the platesetter to prevent the drippings from burning.  I just use tin foil balls.

Thanks, I hadn't heard that.  On the XL there is very little room, that pan is usually almost touching grate.  Hope I have enough room.....

• Skiddymarker
    Skiddymarker Posts: 8,522