Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

WOW MAPP TORCH!!!!

Jeffroe189
Jeffroe189 Posts: 273
edited January 2014 in EggHead Forum
So we recently decide with propane prices going up to get away for using a gas hot water heater and move to electric. I was at Lowes today getting some parts for the new water heater and it seemed like a great time to convince the wife to get a Mapp propane torch to use around the house. I really just wanted it for the egg and this was a good excuses. I have been using paper towels soaked in oil for the last 6 to 8 months which has been working great. I usually just fold them, soak them, and light them. Then come back in about 10 to 15 min and close the lid. Well I used the Mapp gas tonight and WOW I got the lump lit in maybe 30 to 45 sec and let it burn for maybe 5 min and closed the lid and was up to temp in 5 min. What used to take 20 to 30 min was done in 10 tonight. This could be the best purchase since the Adjustable Rig and Thermo Pen. 

BOTTOM LINE is if you don't have one BUY ONE!!! It is well worth the $45.
Jeff from Winston-Salem, NC  - LBGE, MiniMax, Blackstone

Comments

• Terrebandit
    Terrebandit Posts: 1,750
    Did ya get the 4000 or 8000?
    Dave - Austin, TX
  • GATABITES
    GATABITES Posts: 1,260
    i agree, very effective. 
    XL BGE 
    Joe JR 
    Baltimore, MD

• Did ya get the 4000 or 8000?
  • Cookinbob
    Cookinbob Posts: 1,691
    +1 on the 8000.  I got one for Christmas and for me it is a game changer.  Way faster and easier.  Good in the fireplace too!
    XLBGE, Small BGE, Homebrew and Guitars