Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Seem to be having issues

So I want you guys' opinion if I am actually having problems getting my Egg going or if this is typical and I'm just new to the Egg life:  So the past 2 cooks I've had trouble getting a good solid fire going.  The previous cook I couldn't really get the fire going and the temps didn't climb above 250 even with both vents wide open..I chalked this up to using smaller pieces of lump from the bottom of the bag and I figured it clogged up the vent holes in the bottom to prevent a good air flow.  Yesterday I cleaned the entire fire box and ash area out completely, Shop Vac'd the entire thing and opened a fresh bag of lump...I hand placed the lump in the fire box almost to the top and I used a lighter stick in the middle....Note*** I did take a few handfuls of remaining lump pieces( not dust just smaller pieces) from the bottom of my container and sprinkle them on top of the larger lump that was in the egg to not waste any and I figured they would burn quickly anyway.  After 10mins or so, the flames were burning pretty descent so I closed the top and attempted to regulate the temps.  After 20mins, the temps were not rising above 250 again....I opened the top and it seemed like the fire was trying to go out...so I placed another lighter stick in and kind of covered it up with larger pieces of lump to get a strong fire going.  This is where it got interesting....The fire quickly regained strength, however, the white smoke billowing out of the egg was quite powerful...I'm sure my neighbors thought my house was on fire w