Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Ceramic or Cast Iron Platesetter

Options
Hello all another noob here my wife surprised me the other day with my new LBGE and very happy with it.  I spent months pouring over this and other forums trying to decide what was the right new grill/smoker for me and she got tired of me talking about and ended the discussion (the best way possible way I think)  I have done a few grills with it some succesfull some not.  But I am trying to get it set up for some smoking this weekend and my local dealer is really pushing the cast iron platesetter over the ceramic one and I was really hoping to get all of yalls opinion on this before I make my purchase.
Lexington TN

Comments

• JohnInCarolina
    JohnInCarolina Posts: 30,974
    edited January 2014
    Options
    The PS is a heat shield, and ceramics do a pretty decent job of that.  I'd think a CI PS would be quite a bit heavier, and I'm not sure I see any real advantage.  It's probably less likely to crack/break, but that's about it.  
    "I've made a note never to piss you two off." - Stike
  • aukerns08
    aukerns08 Posts: 253
    Options
    I'm a noob myself but went with the cast iron one.  I originally bought the ceramic the day before Dizzyfest but after spending the day at Dizzyfest talking to the cooks they all talked me into the cast iron one.  I've been happy with it, it does great for smoking and I've used it to put my dutch oven on after a cook to serve.
    Large and Mini BGE

Hamilton, VA
  • JohnInCarolina
    Options