Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Holding a low temp

Options
I'm new to the Egg and did my first cook last night on my newly purchased large. It was a bacon wrapped jalapeño and cream cheese stuffed pork loin with a good result but had trouble controlling temp. I wanted to keep the temp between 250-300 but had trouble keeping it below 400. I had the bottom vent barely open(maybe a half inch) and the top vent holes barely open. Could I possibly have had too much charcoal? Could the 30 degree temperature outside have played a factor? I'm just trying to get some pointers from you seasoned veterans on here. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• Dbro15
    Dbro15 Posts: 5
    Options
    Also, I cooked i did have the place setter in there with a drip pan
  • Philwilhelm
    Options
    How's the seal on your gasket? You want to make sure that when you attach the top half of the egg, the seal is perfect.  You put the top on and then screw in the clamp.
  • Shiff
    Shiff Posts: 1,835
    Options
    A half inch opening on the bottom vent would normally give a higher temperature than 250 measured at the dome.  Daisy wheel opening sounds right but the bottom ent would normally be about 1/8 inch or so.

The amount of charcoal shouldn't make a difference and you should always be in the habit of filling up the firebox especially if you intend to do an all night cook at low temperature. 

Outside temperature has very little effect.

Have you calibrated your thermometer?
    Large BGE
    Barry, Lancaster, PA
  • jhl192
    jhl192 Posts: 1,006
    Options