Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

BGE or Primo XL

Hello everyone and Happy New Year!  I am new to the BGE Forum and joined to get some information before making a purchase.  Full disclosure, I’ve joined both the BGE and Primo forums since those are the two ceramics I am considering.  

One day I lean toward the BGE, the next, Primo XL Oval, what to do?  Here’s my situation:

I’ve been doing BBQ on a offset Oklahoma Joe for about 10 years and get very good results with Brisket, Pork Ribs, and Pork Shoulder.  I use a Weber gas grill for everyday use for steaks, chicken etc., mainly due to fast heat up time.  Ideally I would like to replace both with one ceramic type grill.

I have been considering the Egg for sometime now and this year for Christmas my neighbor got the BGE XL and it’s impressive!  Not to run out and “get what the Jones’ have”, I started looking on the web for other ceramics, Kamado Joe, Grill Dome, Saffire, things of that sort.  In the end, the discussion always comes down to the EGG and the Primo XL Oval.

Primarily I just cook for two, but on occasion I do large BBQ cooks for several so the XL in either is a given I think.  I’ve read things about both I like and dislike and hence the purpose of this discussion.

From what I’ve read, both are similar in heat retention and temperature control.

Primo:

• ·      Like the oval shape
  • ·      Made in the USA
  • ·      Split fire box capability
  • ·      Not sure about availability of accessories (3rd party if that’s even a real issue)
  • ·      Single piece fire box seem to crack