Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Follow-up on first cook

GeoM
GeoM Posts: 7
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Did my first cook yesterday. You might recall that my plan was to do steaks at high temps. After reading several newbie's difficulties getting up to high temps I was determined that this was not going to happen to me. I studied every strategy for achieving screaming temps and employed them all. Unfortunately I succeeded too well. Humpty pegged 750 within 15 min! Feeling pretty proud I commenced my cook.
The subjects of this experiment were two 1 1/2 inch ribeyes. I seared them with no top and the vent wide open for 3 minutes and then flipped them. They looked pretty charred but I pressed on for another three minute sear on the other side. After this I shut it down for a 3 minute dwell and then pulled out my brand spanking new Polder. Boy was I shocked to get an internal temp of 150 which was way too done for my taste. I guess a kinda got carried away with the temp. I have no idea how hot I got but boy was it ever impressive. How should I proceed with my next cook? Should I try to get the temp back down to about 700 or should I just cut back on my sear times. Remember, these were some pretty thick steaks. If temp control is the answer should a put on my daisy wheel or just use the lower vent?
Despite the flame-thowing, the steaks still tasted great. Already looking forward to my next cook! Thanks in advance for your help.[p]GeoM

Comments

• Char-Woody
    Char-Woody Posts: 2,642