Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Intro, and Brisket Question

Options
First off, I have been lurking here ever since I got a large egg as a gift from my parents in March and have tried a lot of methods and recipes from here. You guys have been a great resource for me since I was never an accomplished griller before I began egging and I am by no means an expert but I have gotten so much better results in a short time thanks to this forum. Which is why I turn here for help now. I am hosting a Christmas party for my shift in a couple of weeks and some of the guys want me to cook a brisket. I have read every post I can find here about cooking brisket and since this will be the first I've cooked, I will just trim it, coat it with mustard and bad Byron's and cook it at 275 dome temp until it reaches about 190 IT and start checking for tenderness. What is the thought on removing the point for burnt ends, worth it or not? And if not with the point still on does that change the carving method? I haven't picked up the brisket yet so I don't know what size it will be so can anyone tell me what the largest I can expect to fit on a large? Thanks for any input.
Decatur, AL

Comments

• The Cen-Tex Smoker
    Options
    although it can certainly be done well, I am in the "firmly against cooking your first brisket for a crowd" camp. There are so many variables that if it does not drive you completely nuts during the cook, you may not be pleased with the outcome anyway.

If I can't talk you out of it then i'll say this-