Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Starting at Low Temps?

I found a fish smoking recipe that I would like to try but he starts off at 120 then goes to 140 and finally 175.  I'm brand new to egging and just wondering if anyone is maintaining very low temps with their eggs and how you do it.  On a side note I do have a BBQ guru.  Any help would be appreciated.

God Bless and Semper FI
T

Comments

• Griffin
    Griffin Posts: 8,200
    120 is pretty low. When I did some sausage last weekend, I started about 5 small coals in my mini, then tossed them in the large, added in my AR and stone, then set my pit controller to 140. Worked really good. Even with a pit controller, you can have some problems keeping it low if the coals want to get going. I usually start 140 and go up 10 degrees every hour for sausage and that seems to work.  You could also use a chimney starter or if you have a concrete patio, just take a weed buner to them to really get them going before dropping the coals in.

Rowlett, Texas

Griffin's Grub or you can find me on Facebook

The Supreme Potentate, Sovereign Commander and Sultan of Wings

• When I did my sausage a couple of weeks ago I actually ran at 100* for about an hour (not on purpose).