Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

OT- Sous Vide question

Options
I just received my SV Demi and am wondering if i can cook the steaks to medium temp and put them back in fridge and take to work for the next day? Im a firefighter medic and was thinking it would be great if i could cook my food and take them to work and sear them in skillet to heat the meat and veggies and would be pretty easy. Not sure if it is safe however.. 
Beaufort, SC

Comments

• GrannyX4
    GrannyX4 Posts: 1,491
    Options
    I do it all the time with chicken breasts and I would think it would work just fine for steak.
    Every day is a bonus day and every meal is a banquet in Winter Springs, Fl !
  • Little Steven
    Options
    I just received my SV Demi and am wondering if i can cook the steaks to medium temp and put them back in fridge and take to work for the next day? Im a firefighter medic and was thinking it would be great if i could cook my food and take them to work and sear them in skillet to heat the meat and veggies and would be pretty easy. Not sure if it is safe however.. 
    You might want to put the bag in some hot water for an hour to reheat the interior so you don't overcook when you sear.

Steve 

Caledon, ON

• Canugghead
    Canugghead Posts: 11,529
    edited November 2013
    Options
    @plumbfir01 - It should work, I would dunk the bags in ice water after SV before storing.