Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Cooking Times

I just got my XL BGE. I am a newbie for sure. I have done a lot of research on this forum and online and I can't seem to find a general list of suggested cooking times for each type of meat (i.e. chicken 12-15 min per pound, brisket ** - ** min per pound) I am aware of the temperatures that various meats need to be cooked to for health reasons but do knot know the approximate cooking times at various temps for planning purposes. Is anyone aware of a place  I can find a such as list that covers low and slow times per pound and other higher temps per pound for various dishes??? This would be a big help. I am looking forward to gaining experience with this type of cooking.
Palm City, FL

Comments

• Little Steven
    Little Steven Posts: 28,817
    Cooking times are related to temperature so we would need to know what temps you are cooking a protein to. Best not to leave it to chance and cook to temperature. Google Thermapen.

Steve 

Caledon, ON

• DMW
    DMW Posts: 13,832
    I have used this in the past to get a general idea of timing. http://meatsmokingcalculator.com

But just use this as a guide for planning and always cook to temp, each piece of neat is different.
    They/Them
    Morgantown, PA

XL BGE - S BGE - KJ Jr - HB Legacy - BS Pizza Oven - 30" Firepit - King Kooker Fryer -  PR72T - WSJ - BS 17" Griddle - XXL BGE  - BS SS36" Griddle - 2 Burner Gasser - Pellet Smoker
  • Luvflt
    Luvflt Posts: 63