Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

How do You start your Egg

Hello all, I am new to the BGE but am hooked. I am wondering how everyone is starting their BGE. I have been using the starter blocks from BGE have tried the starter strips but not a fan of them. I heard the electric start is nice but don't want to run a cord to start each time. In NJ so winter time can cause an issue with that. Open to suggesting Thank You Jerry

Comments

• JRWhitee
    JRWhitee Posts: 5,678
    edited October 2013
    I semi soak a single paper towel with olive oil and fold or roll it and use it like a wick, toss a couple pieced of lump on it in the middle front and light both ends.

Johns Creek, Georgia
  • zosobao5150
    zosobao5150 Posts: 133
    edited October 2013
    I use the Weber wax cubes or the weed burner.  Weed burner is more fun.  http://www.harborfreight.com/propane-torch-91033.html 
    What size did you buy?
    XL BGE
  • 91% isopropyl alcohol from Walmart.  Biproduct is carbon dioxide and water.  No smell but lights like charcoal lighter.  Cheap too.

Dripping Springs, Texas.
    Just west of Austintatious

• I bought a Large and having fun. Weekends is an eating frensy. Kids need to keep bring friends over a samplers.My two oldest bring their college friends who are always open to good food beats college food.
  • I use my Mapp gas torch it works quite nicely 
    2 Large Eggs and a Mini 2 Pit Bulls and a Pork shoulder or butt nearby and 100% SICILIAN
    Long Island N.Y.
  • Great feed back thank you.

• KennyLee
    KennyLee Posts: 806