Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pork Butt Questions

I do not post that much but I do lurk on this forum daily.  I am relatively new to egging (since June).  I have some success's due to everyone elses posts and a few failures as I like to experiment.  However, the my next big low and slow can't be an experiment.  I am going to be doing roughly 40lbs of butt next week for a work event.  I have a few questions to ask based on the results of the first 2 butts I have done.

1. What temp?  I have been doing 225 dome and bumping it up to 250-275 to power it thru the stall.  Is this correct or would it be better to let it stay at 225?
  2. Should I inject?  If so, with what?  I have injected the last two with an apple juice, garlic and brown sugar mixture and they were moist but the bark was real thick.  Was it the brown sugar making it too thick? Should I eliminate the brown sugar or the complete injection?
  3. What to use for a drip pan?  I have been raising the cheap disposable aluminum tin trays raised on hose clamps but the dripings and apple juice it put in there always burn.  Is there a trick to it not burning/evaporating?
  4. How much smoke?  I generally scatter about 8 chucks split between apple and cherry on top of the coal,  is that too much or too little?  The smoke seems to be real thick and last about an hour or two and then nothing for the remaining 12 hours.  Is that correct?

Any advice you all could give me would be greatly appreciated!!!

Rochester Hills, MI

Comments

• Crimsongator
    Crimsongator Posts: 5,797
    edited October 2013