Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Rookie Pizza Crust Problems...

Hi Everybody,

First of all I want to say I have really enjoyed this forum over the last month, and have learned a lot from you guys and gals.  I am fairly new to the BGE, but do have some experience having helped my father grill on his a few times, and I purchased mine about 3 weeks ago.  With that being said, I am having pizza crust problems.  My setup is a medium egg with BGE lump, a placesetter facing down, and my BGE pizza stone (from Eggtoberfest!) sitting on my grate.  I normally make sure my lump is at the ring then light it up.  Once I get the temp to 500-550 degrees I go ahead and add the placesetter, grate and pizza stone and let them get up to temperature for around 20-30 minutes while im preparing.  Once I've got everything ready I use parchment paper cut to the size of my crust to slide it off easier.  I have been letting it cook for 7-10 minutes depending on how it looks, but on the last 4 that I've done the crust has been black by the time the top looks like its cooked well enough.  I did ditch the parchment paper once and used a little bit of corn meal to keep the dough from sticking to the slider, and its still came out black.  Thanks for your help guys!

Also, the dough that I've used so far is pillsbury that comes in the cans.  If theres something I've left out just let me know and I will be glad to fill you in. 

Comments

• I try to get my pizza as high in the dome as possible.  The convection up in there is a more even heat and seems to help the topping cook better.