Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Controlling Temperature

Options
Newbie Posts: 33
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hope everyone's having an eggstrordrinary Sunday -- This is my first attempt at cooking on a Green Egg (mine's actually an old clay Kamado cooker). Went to the Big Green Egg Store here in Atlanta yesterday and loaded up on accessories (daisy wheel, thermometer, lump charcoal, etc.) and advice.[p]My question: I lit the fire, waited for the temp to get up to 300^, thru on my rubbed baby backs, closed the dome and shut the Daisy wheel, and left the draft door open 1". The temp then went to 350. I've closed the draft door to about an 1/8" and the temp's still at 290 for the last half hour -- I was shooting for 210-220. I'm thinking about closing the draft door entirely (I've done this for a few minutes at a pop), but I'm worried about extinguishing the fire, and not knowing it because of the stored heat within the Egg.[p]Sorry for the long post, but any advice will be appreciated.[p]Thanks!
Dan

Comments

• Gfw
    Gfw Posts: 1,598
    Options
    newbie, you fail to say whether you are doing your ribs direct or indirect. Try just opening the top for a minute and letting the heat out - it usually works for me. [p]If that doesn't work, don't be afraid of the 250 to 290 range - the ribs will still be great. Good luck![p]
  • Spin
    Spin Posts: 1,375
    Options