Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Steaks on the BGE - embarrasment.

I've been cooking on my medium BGE for a few years -- nothing very adventurous but good.  Chicken, steak and vegetables -- just figuring it out as I go.
So I saw a video by mempey on youtube  about searing steaks on the BGE and I saw some things I hadn't known about, chiefly getting the Egg screaming hot for a good sear and then closing all the dampers and letting the meat sit for a couple of minutes.
Mempey used a small Egg.  His temp was between 6 and 7 hundred as I recall, two minutes per side, and he left the meat on the grill, vents closed for four minutes.
I got two very nice thick strip steaks ready with a little chipotle rub, brought my medium Egg up to 620 or thereabouts, and seared for three minutes per side.
I like my steaks rare, and the wife medium-well.  I figured that steaks this thick (11/2 inch) a little longer might work better.
When I turned them they looked pretty black and after a four-minute dwell they were charcoal.
Mine was inedible, or at least no fun.I mean, a certain amount is what we're after, but this was incineration and the meat was way overdone.  My wife's was still a little pink and after she scraped off a lot of carbon she said hers was good.
So my question is: does the medium Egg pack a bigger thermal wallop than the Mini.  What else might I have done wrong?  Lower temp? Less time?
Counsel from the wise ones is appreciated.

Comments

• lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,168