Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

How many ribs per person?

Options
Hello All
I am new to the BGE and just got my Large last week. I have been really enjoying the forum and have learned tons, so thank you. I did a test cook of some ribs last week and they came out great, 5 hours, 275ish.

I'm curious what a good rule of thumb is for how many ribs per person when planning for a group. We are having 6 adults over tomorrow.

Thanks!

Comments

• njl
    njl Posts: 1,123
    Options
    Depends on the ribs.  Baby backs, depending on what else you're serving, figure half a slab per person.  St. Louis / Spares, a little less.  Beef back ribs, probably just 2--3 bones per person.

This is based on the ribs I've cooked (baby and St. Louis from Costco, beef from Publix).  The ribs I get at Costco tend to be way meatier than what some of the chain restaurants server, particularly the baby backs.
  • henapple
    henapple Posts: 16,025
    Options
    I'd do 3 racks. I usually plan on 3 ribs for ladies... Half a rack for the guys. Also depends on appetizers, amount of sides, desserts...
    Green egg, dead animal and alcohol. The "Boro".. TN 
  • jeffreytotaro
    Options
    Thanks for the info! Sorry I forgot to mention baby backs. I think I'll do three then, although I can fit 4 on the Egg in the rib rack. I prefer them dry and smoked straight through. I tried the foil method, but prefer the dry. I'll let the guests add some sauce if they want.

Thanks!
  • dweebs0r
    dweebs0r Posts: 539
    edited September 2013
    Options