Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Cowboy Wood $3

Was at Home Depot yesterday and saw Cowboy wood was $2.98 for 8 lb bag. Only lady also told me there is another pallet of it in the back. Now I am new to the egg and have only used one bag of lump so far that bag being cowboy wood. Do you think I should stock up for the winter on the $3 bags or try other brands to see what works for me? I know its all preference but when I see a half off sale it gets me all excited!! :)

Comments

• I would have to be in desperate straights to ever use Cowboy.  Fairly common box store brands are Royal Oak and Best of the West, both of which have worked well for me.  Wicked Good used to be at Ace, but alas no more.

XXL #82 out of the first 100, XLGE X 2, LBGE (gave this one to daughter 1.0) , MBGE (now in the hands of iloveagoodyoke daughter 2.0) and lots of toys

• fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,663
    the cowboy lately has a more robust smoke flavor than most lumps other than mesquite lumps, im beginning to like it more and more and would buy it. its alot diffirent than it was a year or two ago. being new to burning lump i would try some others but nothing wrong with having several different types on hand
    fukahwee maine

you can lead a fish to water but you can not make him drink it
  • I have heard some not so great reviews but couldn't resist picking up a few bags at $2.97.
    Albion, PA