Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Help. I just bought a chunk-o-chest

Csg
Csg Posts: 17
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I just bought an 11.5lb brisket and now I need detailed inst. on how to cook it. Direct- indirect? With fire brick or without? What temp to cook at and how long per lb? Whay temp. to take it off at? I really appreciate al the past advice that you have given me.

Comments

• JohnL
    JohnL Posts: 27
    Csg, I'm by no means an expert, as I'm doing my first brisket on the BGE this evening as well. Maybe we can walk each other through this and see how it turns out. I'll tell ya what I've done thus far. It's been marinating since about 10 am, and I'm planning on putting it on at 6ish this evening. I'm going to use a drip pan filled with the left over marinade and dilute it with water and keep water in the drip pan until its completed. I'm shooting for an internal temp of 195*, then wrap in foil and let stand for 45 to 60 minutes and hopefully let it finish at 200* internal. I'm planning on about 2 to 2.5 hours per pound, throwing mine in the 20 to 25 hour cooking range. I think a dome temp of about 250* with a water filled drip pan should work nicely for a good lo and slow cook. When are you planning on putting that chunk-o-chest on humpty?[p]John

• g-o
    g-o Posts: 39
    Csg, Just scroll down, in the last two days all possible brisket questions have been answered.

• Cat
    Cat Posts: 556