Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Why I can’t I get my egg to settle down today?? Any ideas

I just got my egg a few weeks ago so I am a complete novice at this. So, I am sure my lack of experience is the problem. I am hoping that you guys could point me in the right direction and share some pointers with an newbie.

This is my 2nd slow and low cook I have done on the egg and everything the first time went fine. This time however will not stabilize for me. I trying for 225 to 230 and I will just bump the daisy wheel like a 1/8 of an inch or less and it will start creeping very slowly in one direction. I will let it go to about 238 or so and bump it the other way then it will start heading down. It might take a 45 min to an hour to get down to 221. So then I adjust again back the other way. I really am making crazy small adjustments on it wheel. This is the first time using a grill grate probe though. Am I just trying to be too picky trying to keep the temp within 5 degrees? 

This is a  large egg the daisy wheel is about 1/4 to 1/3 open and the bottom vent is about 1" or so open if that helps at all. 

Comments

• rholt
    rholt Posts: 392
    Just pick one and leave it. 10-15 degrees isn't gonna make a huge impact on the length and quality of the cook.
  • You're probably being a bit picky here. This is something that comes with experience, and you need some patience as well. You might also want to purchase one of the digital controllers.
    "I've made a note never to piss you two off." - Stike
  • MJG
    MJG Posts: 598
    edited September 2013