Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

0 for 2 on Ribeyes, charcoal taste this time...

Options
I'm new to the BGE, (5th cook tonight). Thought I'd sear a couple of Ribeyes... Brand new high que and a fresh bag of royal oak, 500 direct with grid on the fire ring. Steaks came out okay, not as chared as I would have liked, and a hair more than medium. That I can figure out. The major issue with these is that after two glasses of wine, I can still taste the charcoal... What's the brain trusts fix for avoiding the charcoal taste?

LBGE

BTFU!

Comments

• TEggSun
    TEggSun Posts: 244
    Options
    How long after you lit the lump did you wait to put the meat on?  Was it fresh lump?  If it was fresh and you were quick to cook, perhaps you are tasting VOCs.  Let the Egg stabilize for about 20 minutes at your desired temperature.  The exhaust should be nearly odorless at that point.  Perhaps that will help.
    Transplanted from Austin, Texas to Medina, Ohio

• Hankyorke
    Hankyorke Posts: 146
    Options
    Not sure how fresh, but straight outta the bag, if that's what you mean. Got her to temp and tossed the steaks on, I figured that was the issue.... Thanks

LBGE

BTFU!

• Logger
    Logger Posts: 309
    Options
    Like TEggSun said....wait for the VOC's to burn off. 
    I put a ¼ of my cast iron grid (It comes in quarters) right on the coals in order to get that charred effect you're talking about for about 1½ min per side (turning 90° every 45 seconds).  Then I move it up to the felt line grid and cook it to 125° internal.