Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Rookie question "direct cooking heights"

I'm new to BGE cooking (only cooked twice) and I'm not using the right terminology so the search isn't bringing anything up... I'm planning on doing a direct pork loin tomorrow and see everyone cooking them raised but I don't have that accessory yet... If I cook with the porcelain grate at "standard" height (using dome temp); what do I need to do with my temp and time as compared to those cooking direct but raised? Just looking for a little guidance from the experts Thanks

LBGE

BTFU!

Comments

• Eggcelsior
    Eggcelsior Posts: 14,414
    To get raised direct, you can use some aluminum cans on the fire ring or even bricks. If this is unavailable, cook at 350 and flip every 5 minutes until an internal temp of 135. A pork loin should rise about 10 degrees during the rest.
  • cajunduck
    cajunduck Posts: 203
    I do a reverse sear with the pork loins that I cook. Have a plate setter?
    Geaux Tigers!! West Monroe, Louisiana
  • Mattman3969
    Mattman3969 Posts: 10,457
    edited August 2013
    @Hankyorke - if you have time you could go to Lowes or Home Depot and buy a weber grid and some 4-5" bolts and make yourself a raised grid very easily for around $25 or so Here is what I used before the PSwoo3 and still use when I want multi levels of cooking. image

-----------------------------------------

analyze adapt overcome

2008 -Large BGE. 2013- Small BGE and 2015 - Mini. Henderson, Ky.
  • Hankyorke
    Hankyorke Posts: 146