Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

My Firstest Smoke and Post!

Hi, everyone. Newbie here. Just wanted to make my first post about my first butt on my LBGE and give a little info on the process. Forgive me if I use actual words in place of acronyms. I have no clue what most of them mean. (Has anyone thought about posting a glossary?)
First, I went to Costco and decided that the meats there were too big for my first try. Mainly thinking of $ spent if it was a bust. 
So I picked up a 5# butt at Kroger yesterday. 
Prepped it last night. Removed maybe half of the fat cap. In my research I found that there are those who leave it and those that remove it. Since this one seemed a little thick, I decided to split the difference. Rubbed on a light coating of yellow mustard, followed by Famous Dave's Rib Rub. Wrapped it up and put it in the fridge for the night. Attached is the prepped butt's pic.
Lit the LBGE a little after 7a this morning with BTE Lump and some cherry chips.
Put the platesetter, an aluminum drip pan on top of the platesetter and the grate on after 10 minutes and closed the lid. The pan was slightly taller than the platesetter's legs, so I'll go with a shallower pan next time.
About 20 minutes later the dome was at 250 indicated on the BGE dome thermometer, and I put the butt on the grate. It took me a little while to get it regulated between 250 and 280 but I'd say about 1.5 hours into the cook it was pretty much staying within the 240 - 265 range. Once that was dialed in, it was easier to maintain than I expected.