Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Beef Roast

Options
OK, as a Rookie I have tried all the basics and feel like I am getting the hang of it. Interested in making some sort of beef roast, would welcome any recipes that you Veterans could provide. I promise pictures if its successful or a failure! 
LBGE 2013 Located in Savannah, Georgia

Comments

• Skiddymarker
    Skiddymarker Posts: 8,522
    Options
    Rib roast, check out the amazing rib site, http://www.amazingribs.com/

Have the butcher remove the bones and tie it in a circular shape for you, so no more than a couple of ribs long. Cook it indirect, low and slow until IT is about 10-15º below target finish, then take out the setter and do a reverse sear. Will come out great, and because you are doing a slow cook up front it will not get away on you and overcook. 
    You can really change the taste with the rub you choose and if you use a board sauce. Good luck!
    Delta B.C. - Whiskey and steak, because no good story ever started with someone having a salad!
  • Aquacop
    Aquacop Posts: 481
    Options
    Sounds great thanks skiddymark
  • Aquacop
    Options
    P.S., Interesting username!  lol
  • Tjcoley
    Tjcoley Posts: 3,551
    Options
    Baltimore Pit Beef is a nice quick roast. A number of good recipes on here - I remember a good one from @Griffin.  Here's how I did it

Eggcelsior Posts: 14,414
    Options
    If you reverse sear a rib roast, go really low... like 200. Then sear once you are 15-20 below finish temp. Edge to edge awesomeness.
  • Mattman3969
    Mattman3969 Posts: 10,457
    Options