Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First Post - First Butts - First Ribs - And With Pics!

Hello from Atlanta!  Newbie here.  My family bought me a Large BGE for Father's day (yes, they really love me!) and I've done about five cooks.  My best was this past weekend.  I did two 7.5 lb bone-in pork butts and three racks of Baby Backs.  I am now totally hooked on cooking on an egg!  My family and neighbors were very complimentary on how delicious the pork was and I was amazed at how well it turned out.  Eggspecially since this was the first time I've ever attempted to smoke butts or do ribs on any kind of grill/smoker.  I learned a good bit on this cook and look forward to putting that knowledge to good use on future cooks.  I had some help from a good friend in Nebraska - fellow Egghead posting as BOWHUNR, so a big shout-out to him for the help. 

Well, here are some details.  I started with a nice clean fire box:

Then I laid a nice bed of lump mixed with Hickory chunks and Peach chips:

Looks Pretty Sweet Huh?

I had already prepped my meat using Car Wash Mike's Rib method and just did a dry rub of Dizzy Pig Dust on the butts:  

Then I put them in the refrigerator to wait for the cook later Saturday night.  In the meantime, my trusty assistant, Reagan, inspected the cook area for fire hazards.

Men of integrity expect to be believed, but when they aren't, they allow time to prove them right.

Comments

• OVERULD
    OVERULD Posts: 47
    To Continue with More Pics