Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smoking combos or some other variable?

Options
Is there such a thing as flavor seeping between items smoked at the same time?  If so, any good combos I should try?

I'm a newbie so this may have been answered in another thread. (I've only started using my LBGE end of May this year)  2 weeks ago, I was trying out different wings recipes for a party and thought, "Why not smoke some garlic? There were extra space..."

The recipe:
 - 4 part soy sauce
 - 1 part sesame oil
 - 1 part sugar

Smoke wood:
 - 2 pecan chunks

Possible culprit:
 - a handful of peeled garlic in a DIY aluminum foil cup with EVOO, salt & pepper.

Config & Temp & Time:
 - plate setter, legs up, 250.  2 hours ( or until the skin is crispy and the meat still juicy)

The wings came out amazing!  On party day, I did everything the same, but, the wings were just... good.  Something seemed to be missing.  So I'm thinking it's got to be the garlic, right?  Or maybe it was the humidity, wind, phase of the moon, etc...

Large BGE, Small BGE, KJ Jr, and a Cracked Vision Kub.

in Smyrna GA.

Comments

• bud812
    bud812 Posts: 1,869
    Options
    Or the amount of Booze consumed. That's where I get in trouble.

Not to get technical, but according to chemistry alcohol is a solution...

Large & Small BGE

Stockton Ca.

• lilwooty
    lilwooty Posts: 215
    Options
    If the garlic was exposed to the air I would say that it had a part in the final flavor of the wings no doubt.

Living Large and XL

• nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    Options
    +1 on the booze ;)