Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Anyone ever try the port a pit copycat recipe?

Want to try to make some leg quarters in the port a pit fashion. Chicken baked in a covered pan with a lot of butter, vinager, Worcestershire,salt,pepper. 325 deg.for about 45 min. then finished on the grill about 15 min. Until browned. My question is how to set up my new and beloved LBGE for the grilling? I'm new to the egg and to the forum but man am I enjoying the journey. Thanks for all the info here I am very appreciative.

Comments

• nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    The quarters will be pretty wet so you'll need some high heat to dry them and get them crispy, if that's what you're expecting.  I'd just fire it up to around 500-ish and cook them direct, keeping an eye on them and moving them around so they don't burn.  They're done at 170.  They'll probably cook another 5-10 F after you pull them off because you're cooking so hot. 

Another thing you can do is wipe the skin down with a rag or paper towels, or remove the skin all together.
    Sounds like an indirect cook for the first 45 minutes and then grill d direct to finish them off. Never tried anything like that. Keep an eye on the temp so you don't over cook them.

Rowlett, Texas

Griffin's Grub or you can find me on Facebook

The Supreme Potentate, Sovereign Commander and Sultan of Wings

• dizzy1
    dizzy1 Posts: 34
    The recipe calls for dipping the chicken in the liquid several times during the final grilling
  • Black_Badger
    Black_Badger Posts: 1,182
    Can you post the recipe?