Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Another Temperature Discussion (and a couple other questions)

I know much of this has been addressed quite a bit, but I haven't been able to find concise answers using the search function.  I'm relatively new to the egg.  It's been incredible so far, but the temperature thing is troubling me.  I'm using BGE charcoal starters, generally placing two in the upper section of the lump.  I light them, leave the lid open and let the fire burn for about 7 minutes--the time specified on the BGE website.  After 7 minutes, I close the lid and open the vents.  So here's where I start running into trouble.  My questions are as follows: