Big Green Egg - EGGhead Forum - The Ultimate Cooking Experience...
We’re feeling pretty super, how about you? The big game is fast approaching, and while we love football, we love an excuse to invite people over and cook even more! You too can cook like a champion with recipes from Dr. BBQ’s NFL Gameday Cookbook: Grilled Tuna Sandwiches from Seattle and Baked Brie from New England. Who’s going to win? You’ll have to cook both to find out.

The 17th Annual EGGtoberfest was amazing - here are the highlights Click Here

Thermapen - Worth It?

Serious cooking question - I am a fairly good cook by feel guy but steaks at high temp are really tricky. Did ribeyes tonight and undercooked them a tad - had to put back on for a minute or so but not acceptable in my book. My SWMBO suggested that I need to get a thermapen so I can take the hint.  Looks like they are all the same model - any advice?  Also, I have a Polder digital for roasts, etc.  What is the best in your book that also has replacement probes as they seem to burn out or break on me?  I have found it hard to find good thermometers .
Milton, GA.
·

Comments

• bigphilbigphil Posts: 1,380
    thermapen for checking meat temps get the British racing green its the fastest and bbq guru for low and slow guarding 
    Large Big Green Egg , XL Big Green Egg . BBQ Guru, Weber Kettle, Weber Q grill for road trips.
    ·
  • tulocaytulocay Posts: 1,688
    +1 on the thermapen. we use it all the time both on the egg and oven
    LBGE, Marietta, GA
    ·
  • flynnbobflynnbob Posts: 581
    hapster said:
    Yes...

Get the new one with the back lit display
    Thanks, Brother - I can't see as well as I used to, especially after a beer or two...
    Milton, GA.
    ·
  • boatbumboatbum Posts: 1,273
    Yes +1. Only item more impactful is the egg itself.
    Cookin in Texas
    ·
  • Charlie tunaCharlie tuna Posts: 2,191