Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

New to BGE and 1st time Ribeyes

Options
CeeGeeW
CeeGeeW Posts: 113
Hi All,

I'm brand new to the BGE world (old gas grill owner).  This is my first steak.  I picked up some nice size ribeyes from Costco (1.5 thick).  It's just me so I'm making just one nice sized.  I have been reading all the old threads about Ribeye and decided with this route:

Soak whiskey wood chips for 2 hrs
Make rub: olive oil, rosemary, pepper, minced garlic, salt and apply to steak (let sit outside of fridge for about 1.5 hrs)
Setup BGE for indirect heat at 250F
When at 250F, lift grid and place setter and throw in a handful soaked whiskey wood chips.  Replace place setter, put in drip pan and grid.
Put on lightly seasoned steaks for 45 mins (about 130 internal temp).  Take off steaks.
Let rest while grill heats up to 600 degress for reverse sear
At 600F put the ribeye back on for about 1.5 mins a side.
Rest 10 mins.

Any suggestions before I start the big feast?
Last note: my version of medium-rare seems to be everyone's rare.  So, to make things simple for me, I would like it medium with some crust on the outside.

Thanks all and glad to be here!
Los Angeles, CA

Comments

• Little Steven
    Little Steven Posts: 28,817
    Options
    My guess is you are going to end up around 150* after the rest which is medium. Don't need to soak chunks or chips with the egg.

Steve 

Caledon, ON

• SmokeyPitt
    SmokeyPitt Posts: 10,490
    Options