Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Cold Smoking - time sensitive

Options
RGBHV
RGBHV Posts: 1,318
I've never done it before and have been preparing to cold smoke some cheese. I hope to do it a little later today. 

All of the pics I've seen show the cheese higher up into the dome. Does it have to be located higher up in the dome or can I take out the fire ring, place a 3 tier stacker with the bottom tray being for ice? 

Michael

Comments

• nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    Options
    Higher in the dome is hotter.  Put it where it's coolest.
    Options
    The smoke permeates everything...no worries there.
    How hot is it where you live? Might be best to do it at night once it's cooled off. Of course, I live in tx where cheese would melt like butter outside today (98 degrees at the moment).
    Keepin' It Weird in The ATX FBTX
  • nolaegghead
    Options
    I've been "nyah nyah nyah-ing" all my Minnesota and Wisconsin buddies for their unusually cold winter and our unusually warm one for the past 6 months.  Suddenly the tide has changed.  I run from the house to the shop.
    Options
    It's about 78 in the GWN (Mississauga) - I thought about waiting until sundown, but figured with the ice and just smoke, that the temp in the egg wouldn't get too high. (mid eighties?)

I'm starting to get antsy now. I've had all day to think about this. Cleaned the Egg, cleaned the stacker, prepared the cheese.

I guess that's why it's an eggsperiment for me - I've never done it before.

Do you think I should hold off until sundown?

Michael
  • nolaegghead