Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Roasted Chicken

Im new to the BGE.  My wife surprised me with one for my birthday last wednesday.  Got home from work and a Lg BGE was on the back deck.  Im firing it up for the first time today and roast a chicken and do some baked potatoes.  Any advice for a first timer like myself?  I purchased the lg place setter and the V rack in anticipation of this cook.

Thanks for your help.  Im jacked to be part of the BGE community!

Chris

Comments

• TexanOfTheNorth
    TexanOfTheNorth Posts: 3,951
    Welcome @carcoutte. That's an amazing birthday present (you must be doing something right!)

Lot's of us swear by spatchcock chicken so, that's what I would recommend. It's a pretty simple way to do a whole bird. Do a search here and you'll find more than enough info how how to do it (if you don't already know). And, remember, if there aren't any pics it didn't happen! 
    ;)
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Well, "spa-Peggy" is kind of like spaghetti. I'm not sure what Peggy does different, if anything. But it's the one dish she's kind of made her own.
    Welcome!
    The most popular way to do the chicken is to spatchcock it (butterfly):

However, if you just want to put the chicken in the V-rack and cook it I'm sure it will turn out great.  I would put some foil over the plate setter to catch the drippings and shoot for around 350 and cook until it is 180 in the deepest part of the thigh.