Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Turbo vs. Low 'n' Slow

Here's the deal.  I am cooking a butt for a father's day cookout.  Serving time is noon Sunday.  I can either do a turbo or a long cook.  I have never done turbo before, so I'm a tad hesitant.  What differences can I expect if I go the more convenient route (turbo)?  I want serious bark, and I fear a turbo cook might not do that.
Transplanted from Austin, Texas to Medina, Ohio

Comments

• TonyA
    TonyA Posts: 583
    There have been some fantastic turbo butts posted here. For me, cooking anything is all about when I have time to put it on and go from there. Overnight butts go on when everyone is in bed so I tend to do that.
  • CANMAN1976
    CANMAN1976 Posts: 1,593
    This type of thread could get interesting real quick!!!
    Hows ya gettin' on, me ol ****

Kippens.Newfoundland and Labrador. (Canada).
  • ddegger
    ddegger Posts: 244
    Others on here have more experience and you're likely to hear full endorsements of both methods. Before I cooked my last round I saw several folks say that the turbo method produced comparable results so I have it a shot and it worked great. Tons of bark, lots of good smokey flavor,  etc.  So, I'd say you've got nothing to lose by going convenient. Good luck! 
  • Hi54putty
    Hi54putty Posts: 1,873
    I am a turbo guy. Having said that, you will only get serious bark going low and slow. Not worth the extra time and effort to me.
    XL,L,S 
    Winston-Salem, NC 
  • Eggcelsior
    Eggcelsior Posts: 14,414