Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Welcoming the Griswolds to the family

GQuiz
GQuiz Posts: 701
Package finally arrived from home. A pair of Griswolds... and the weekend starts tomorrow. What to cook? But first question, is there a preferred way to clean them?

XL BGE; Schertz TX by way of Stow OH. #egghead4life

Comments

• ChokeOnSmoke
    ChokeOnSmoke Posts: 1,942
    edited June 2013
    Look nice...solid.  I'm no expert on cleaning cast iron, but I've always read just water and kosher salt, no soap/detergent.
    Packerland, Wisconsin

• caliking
    caliking Posts: 18,727
    I've heard of even just using kosher salt alone to scour the pan.

I know this may sound blasphemous, but I clean my CI with a wee bit of soap and water, and a gentle scrubbing after most cooks. I can't bear the thought of cooking in them again and again without washing them with some soap. Don't listen to me though, because that's not how you develop a nice patina on your CI.

That square piece looks really nifty , BTW.

#1 LBGE December 2012 • #2 SBGE February  2013 • #3 Mini May 2013
    A happy BGE family in Houston, TX.
  • Eggcelsior
    Eggcelsior Posts: 14,414
    How is the seasoning? If intact just wash and re-oil. Wash with water and a soft scrub sponge. Wipe out excess water and put on a burner on low to evaporate the rest. Put in a little oil and wipe it all over with a paper towel. Then, keep wiping until it almost looks it is dry of oil. You want a very thin layer.

If it needs reseasoning, whole different ballgame.
  • GQuiz