Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Low temp trouble

Options
I've been using my LBGE for about 3 months and I have trouble maintaining low temps (220-275). I can maintain 300+ easily but when I restrict the air to hold achieve a low temp I put the fire out.

Comments

• Furall
    Furall Posts: 124
    Options
    My biggest improvement in that area has been my hi que grate. Really lets that baby breath.
  • lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,375
    Options
    There are many ways to get the BGE lump up and burning-for me with low&slow I fully open the bottom vent, open the dome and light in the center.  Leave the dome open for around 5-10 minutes (looking for around a softball sized mass of lump burning).  Then shut the dome with DFMT off.  When dome temp (calibrated) gets to around 200*F, I then set the DFMT and bottom vent to about the target temp (somewhere 250-275*F-don't chase it) and let it settle in.  Make every attempt to not overshoot as once the ceramic heats up it can take quite a while for the temp to come back down.  YMMV-
    Louisville; Rolling smoke in the neighbourhood. # 38 for the win.  Life is too short for light/lite beer!  Seems I'm livin in a transitional period.
  • flemster
    flemster Posts: 269
    Options