Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

maverick et-732

Options
Hi all...I just ordered a special edition all black version of the maverick et-732 with free shipping.Getting my egg in two  weeks and figured I needed one of these.Do you guys wrap your probes with foil??

thanks
Jamie.
Hows ya gettin' on, me ol ****

Kippens.Newfoundland and Labrador. (Canada).

Comments

• CANMAN1976
    CANMAN1976 Posts: 1,593
    Options
    Oh and by the way...Lambs rum and a credit card are to blame for this transaction lol!!

• CharlieTN
    CharlieTN Posts: 177
    Options
    I'm new to this but after I read several people recommend it, I do.  Also try to run the wires to go over one of the legs of the platesetter. Puts the wire in a lower heat area.
  • CANMAN1976
    Options
    I have heard of shorts and other issues.Has anyone used one of these for a few years without issue when wrapped in foil?

• Scottborasjr
    Scottborasjr Posts: 3,494
    Options
    I've had one for 3 years, probably used it once or twice a month and haven't burned up the probes yet.  Most of the time when people burn up their probes they have put them into the Egg without the cooker being stabilized and the fire gets away from them. If I'm cooking below 275* I don't wrap the cords, if I'm cooking above that temp I wrap the cords.

Also if you are using the plate setter as your indirect piece I run the cords so they are over the legs of the plate setter so they are not over open flame.  Hasn't happened much since I got my Adjustable Rig, but just another thought.