Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Help me, please. I am new to the BGE and have a few quick ?s....

I have a Large BGE and have become somewhat decent at cooking the main dishes like steak, chicken, burgers...but I want to step up to the next level:

1) Which Digi Q do you recommend...the II or the Cyber Q....and I only have one cooking device.  I assume I would use the DigiQ for ribs and other longer cooks.

2) If I want to be King of the Neighborhood and invite, say, 8 adults and 12 kids over for chicken, burgers, sliders, kabobs, whatever....do I need one of those pie-rack looking tier grates?  And, when using the multi-level tier grates, does all the meat cook evenly on each rack level, or does the botton level absorb heat and prevent some heat from rising to the 2nd level, and does the 2nd level prevent heat from going to the top level?  In other words, does the meat at the botton of the tier-rack that is closest to the flame burn hotter than the 3 level rack that is closest to the top of the grill?

3) Am I fooling myself that I can cook for 20 people (entrees only....20 chicken breasts, 20 burgers) on a Large BGE and have the meat come off a one time and be ready to chow down?

Thanks in advance for your help!!

Comments

• Hi chuckie t. I don't use a stoker so I'll Let the other guys weight in on that.