Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smoke question!

Options
Alton
Alton Posts: 509
Please do your best to describe the difference in Hickory, Pecan and Mesquite smoke flavor profiles?
PROUD MEMBER OF THE WHO DAT NATION!!!!! Stuck in Dallas.......

Comments

• U_tarded
    U_tarded Posts: 2,042
    Options
    I'm not good at describing things like that in writing.  here is a chart that is semi useful(some of the woods i would never bother with).  its fairly accurate but like all things take it with a grain of salt. 

HERE it is.
  • CigarSmokinEgger
    Options
    I've been wondering something similar; everything the same, protein, time, cooking setup, etc. could most people tell the difference between the type of wood used, save for mesquite.  I doubt most people would have the palate to tell the difference.
  • fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,754
    Options
    hickory pecan and guava have the same flavor profile so if you know what hickory tastes like then pecan is similar but lighter in flavor and guava is even lighter. mesquite is very strong, almost sweet but bitter at the same time for me. fruit woods are sweeter. most cooks i use hickory/pecan/guava as a base, then add a fruit would or a touch of mesquite
    fukahwee maine

you can lead a fish to water but you can not make him drink it
  • Skiddymarker
    Skiddymarker Posts: 8,522
    Options