Big Green Egg - EGGhead Forum - The Ultimate Cooking Experience...
It doesn’t get much hotter than the EGG cookin’ in July! Make sure to keep yourself hydrated with a bit of whatever you’re using for the Beer Can Chicken. Ice Cream Sandwiches are also a great way to stay cool. Looking for some great ideas for a summer cook out? Try out a Pimento Cheeseburger or Dr. BBQ’s Spare Rib Surprise. Just don’t be surprised if your neighbors stop by for a quick bite when they smell what you’re cooking!

Big Green Egg headquarters has moved - come visit our new showroom and check out the museum and culinary center too! 3786 DeKalb Technology Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30340

Tip for bacon you use for seasoning.

I saw this on some show. I dont remember what one it was but I have been doing it for a few months and It's amazing. 

Buy some Wrights bacon and remove from original package. Put in Ziplock and freeze. When you need some bacon for seasoning or cooking, cut off what you need. The frozen bacon cuts super easy and you can get exactly what you want. I dont eat the stuff by itself but cook with it often. This saves on waste also. 

Included is a pic of a birds nest on my back porch. Note the mangrates in the background. (they make the pic egg related)
imageimageimage
Be careful, man! I've got a beverage here.
·

Comments

• mangrates seem to be holding up well. 

·
  • BotchBotch Posts: 3,269
    travisstrick said:   I dont eat the stuff by itself...

:-O

Live fast, die young, and leave a well-marbled corpse.  

Ogden, Utard.  
    ·
  • calikingcaliking Posts: 7,057
    That's a great tip. We buy a pound of bacon and cut the whole thing in half. Freeze in 2 separate ziplocs and use the half strips as needed. 

#1 LBGE December 2012 • #2 SBGE February  2013 • #3 Mini May 2013
    A happy BGE family in Houston, TX.
    ·
  • That's a great tip Travis.  Thanks for sharing!

........................................................................................