Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

New to the egg and want to cook pork

mactoolman
mactoolman Posts: 11
Hi I am new to the egg world and I'm looking for help. This weekend I'd like to cook some kind of pork on my bge and I don't know where to start. If you could help me with some suggestions it would be much appreciated.

Comments

• Chubbs
    Chubbs Posts: 6,929
    edited April 2013
    Go pulled pork so you can use leftover for pizza, tacos, etc. plus it is a simple cook. Do you have a temperature gauge?
    Columbia, SC --- LBGE 2011 -- MINI BGE 2013
  • Mickey
    Mickey Posts: 19,674
    edited April 2013
    Two ways; TURBO BUTTS · Hot'n fast, 350 for 3 hours to internal to around 160, then wrap in foil and 2 more hours to 195/200 and then let it rest for an hour or so wrapped in towels in a ice chest. Falls apart and oh so good! Have fun! · Be sure you only get a 7lb butt or so (or a couple ) . Note: The butt box is not required. ...............................…........................... Baby Backs. Did baby backs for lunch a while back. (Sorry but I can't remember who I got this from.) 350 indirect 1hr 40 min. Pull membrane , rub. Put on at 350 and leave the hell alone for about that time. I opened 15 min early and sauced my half rack. This is called turbo ribs and I will never go back to 4 and 5 hour ribs. Note: with or w/o mustard works on both ( I use it)... XXXXX Note: I use Bad Byron's Butt Rub on both.