Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Low & Slow Full Chuck Roast without braising?

Options
jdholman
jdholman Posts: 5

Hi Gang:

I ordered a full square cut beef chuck roast of about 10 lbs to cook this weekend. I'm looking to cook it like I do a pork butt: Dry rub, cook at 225* for about 1.25 hours per lb to an internal temp of 200* then wrap in foil, rest it for an hour, then pull/shred. I would like to do the beef chuck roast the same way. I've been Egging since 1999, so this isn't my first rodeo, but I don't cook chuck on the Egg very often.

I don't want to go the route of cooking it at 225* until an internal temp of 160* is reached, then putting on a bed of veggies, foiling, etc. This looks delicious, but is more of a braise than I want to do.

My question is if I can cook a beef chuck roast as if it was a pork butt. Can I take it to 200* internal and expect it to pull shred? My thoughts are that while a chuck roast has a lot of connective tissue which will turn into deliciousness, there isn't as much marbling (at the choice grade anyway) to stay moist, hence why a lot of people braise.

Has anyone had good results cooking a chuck roast low and slow without braising and then pulling?

Comments

• Rebellab
    Rebellab Posts: 43
    Options
    I did a 3.5# chuck last weekend. It was marbled very well, as it was not store purchased. I did it at 275 for about 6 hours and internal of 205. It pulled pretty well, I should have left it on longer. I also saved the pan drippings. Skimmed some of the fat off of it and added it in.
    LBGE South Dakota
  • SteveWPBFL